IRRV East Midlands Association Annual General Meeting



21st April 2015 – 13:30

Newark and Sherwood District Council

Present: Mark Fearn, Andrew Solley, Kevin Stewart, Ivan Carvath, Alistair Townsend, Alan Lemmon, Rosie Caddy, Rob Andrews, Louise Webb, Kathryn Ellis, Claire Moses, Mike Carr, Roy Thompson, Phil Ward, David Bingham, James Mckillop, Adrian Johnson.

Minutes

1. Apologies

 Apologies were received from Martin Walmsley, Peter Lisewski, Simon Hamilton, Mark Pickup, Sharon Hammond, Janet Barry, Ruth Mayoh-Bates.

2. Minutes of Last AGM – 16th April 2014 at Derby City Council

- The minutes of the last AGM were proposed by Rob Andrews and seconded by Mike Carr as a true and accurate record of that meeting and were approved by the meeting.

3. Matters Arising

- None

4. Association Secretary's Report 2014/15

- 16th April 2014 saw the AGM at Derby City Council.
- On 20th May 2014, an Executive Committee meeting and an Association meeting were held at the Atkins Building in Hinckly with Paul Bowden from Wilkin Chapman Solicitors giving a paper on the use of insolvency in the collection of business rates.
- On 23rd June 2014 the IRRV Inter Association Golf Tournament was held. The East Midlands Association's teams were unsuccessful this year.
- On 22nd September 2014, an Executive Committee meeting was held the offices of Gedling Borough Council.

Action

- 15th November 2014 saw another successful East Midlands Association dinner dance, held at the Casa Hotel in Chesterfield.
- On 27th November 2014, an Executive Committee meeting and an Association meeting were held at the offices of Peterborough City Council with Paul Sharpe from Equita Ltd giving a paper on the changes to the enforcement process and their impact so far.
- In December, the Christmas lunch was again held at the Whipper-In Hotel in Oakham.
- On 22nd January 2015, an Executive Committee meeting and an Association meeting were held at the offices of North Kesteven District Council with Nicoya Palastanga giving a paper on the experiences of a pilot authority for Universal Credit.
- On 17th February 2015, an Executive Committee meeting and an Association meeting were held at the offices of Amber Valley Borough Council with Alan Sullivan, Managing Consultant for the DWP's Housing Delivery and Operations Finance team, giving a paper on the fraud and error challenge and a general update on welfare reform.

5. Presentation of Association Accounts for year ended 31/12/14

- The Treasurer (Alan Lemmon) presented the Association's audited accounts for the year ended 31st December 2014 to the meeting. These accounts can be viewed on the <u>IRRV East Midlands</u> <u>Association website</u>.
- The Treasurer expressed his thanks to all the sponsors of the Association's Dinner Dance and Christmas Lunch and also to all the authorities that had hosted meetings during the year.
- Approval of the accounts was proposed by Mike Carr and seconded by Kathryn Ellis and agreed by the meeting.
- The Treasurer invited any questions on the accounts from the meeting. No questions were raised.

6. Installation of Association President for 2015/16

- Mark Fearn offered his thanks to the Executive Committee for supporting him in his presidential year.
- Mark Fearn announced that £805.00 was raised during his presidential year and that the proceeds would be shared equally between his two charities.
- Mark Fearn passed the President's chain of office to Ivan Carvath.
- Ivan Carvath thanked the Association for his nomination as President for 2105/16.
- Ivan Carvath named his charity for his presidential year as Leukaemia and Lymphoma Research.

7. Installation of Association Vice President for 2015/16

- No nomination was received for the office of Vice President for 2015/16.

8. Election of Executive Committee Officers for 2015/16

- Officers of the Executive Committee were elected as follows:

Andrew Solley Association Secretary

Alan Lemmon Treasurer

Rob Andrews Assistant Association Secretary

Ruth Mayoh-Bates Education Liaison Officer

Claire Moses Membership Officer

Michael Lacey Auditor

Ashok Thakrar Auditor

- The motion was proposed as a block vote by Mike Carr, seconded by Louise Webb and agreed unanimously.

9. Election of Executive Committee Members for 2015/16

- No ballot was held for the election of Executive Committee Members as no published proposals were contested. Members of the Executive Committee were elected as follows:

David Bingham

Member of Association Executive Committee

Sharon Hammond

Member of Association Executive Committee

Louise Webb

Member of Association Executive Committee

Rosie Caddy

Member of Association Executive Committee

Adrian Johnson

Member of Association Executive Committee

James McKillop

Member of Association Executive Committee

- The motion was proposed as a block vote by Rob Andrews, seconded by Phil Ward and agreed unanimously.
- The following members were automatically made members of the Executive Committee by virtue of the fact that they are immediate past presidents, or members of National Council in accordance with rule 6 of the Association Rules:

Mark Fearn Immediate Past Association President

Kathryn Ellis Past Association President 2013/14

Andrew Solley Past Association President 2012/13

Peter Lisewski Past Association President 2011/12

Kevin Stewart IRRV Council Member

Alistair Townsend IRRV Council Member

10. Address by IRRV National President

- Kevin Stewart spoke on the matters currently affecting the Institute and what the Institute will be focussing on in 2015/16.

11. Results of Election Ballots (if required)

- Item not applicable as no ballot was required.

12. Any Other Business

- None.

Meeting closed at 14:40